Ammanford AFC vs Caernarfon Town



The Town of Ammanford came out in force to support their local team boosted by a good away following from the Cofi army of Caernarfon Town FC.
The attendance at the Recreation Ground was in excess of 1200, a fabulous turnout for this Round 4 game in the JD Welsh Cup.
There was a buzz of excitement around the ground as the cameras of S4C Sgorio team were covering the game live on TV.
It was an historic day for Ammanford AFC club , as this was a first in the Town’s history that a live broadcast was being transmitted.

BBC Wales radio were also there , with Chris Wathan and summariser Andy Legg providing the running commentary.
A presentation was made prior to the game to Ammanford’s Gavin Jones who was named as the player of Round 3 in the Welsh Cup.

The stage was set and the referee David Morgan blew his whistle to get the game underway.
Ammanford started the game on the front foot and probably had their best spell of the entire game in the first 15 minutes of the game.
Ammanford’s Gavin Jones had a great opportunity to open the scoring but just couldn’t capitalise on the chance.
As the game progressed the visitors started to get a grip on the game and it took some good defensive play from Ammanford’s back line up to keep the forwards of Caernarfon at bay.
With 25 minutes gone Ammanford’s midfield dynamo Brett Enoch found space in his own half and was driving his way forward when he lost possession, the referee played on and the ball was played to Caernarfon’s forward Sion Bradley who took the ball on and fired his shot passed Ammanford’s goalkeeper Craig Morris to give the “Canaries” the lead 0-1.

Caernarfon pushed on and their play intensified with Ammanford trying to get themselves back into the game.
Six minutes before half time saw the best goal of the game and heartbreak for Ammanford as Caernarfon’s midfielder Darren Thomas who took aim from twenty yards out and unleashed an unstoppable shot which rocketed into the roof of the net, a goal that was good enough to win any game, almost Messi like and bound to be shown over and over on TV etc. 0-2
The half ended with the visitors firmly in control and Ammanford contemplating on how get back in the game.
The second half started where the latter period of the first half had ended with Caernarfon’s grip on the game tightening.
Ammanford’s Craig Morris was having to make some fine saves whilst the Ammanford midfield and defence were under constant pressure.
Eleven minutes into the second half Caernarfon’s Noah Edwards added the third goal for the visitors as the pressure told. 0-3
The Caernarfon team were firmly in control of this cup tie and were showing their quality by moving the ball around the park and making it difficult for the home team to get forward. Caernarfon’s captain Gareth Edwards was a commanding figure at the heart of his team’s defence and was able to alleviate any threats from the home team.
Caernarfon wrapped up the game in the 84th minute when Darren Thomas added a fourth goal for the visitors and capped a fine individual performance.
With the game won , the cup journey was at an end for the valiant Ammanford team who had given the home fans plenty to be excited about this season. At the final whistle it was Caernarfon, deserved winners who celebrated with their fans of the Coffi army.
Ammanford AFC can be proud and although the game was lost , it can be said that the Town of Ammanford was the real winner!

Ammanford AFC will hope that it will not be too long before the Sgorio cameras return to the Recreation Ground.
Sgorio have featured Ammanford AFC twice in the Cup on live TV and in both games the entertainment has been five stars.


Date Time League Season
24th January 2020 8:00 pm Cymru South 2019/20


Ammanford Community, Ammanford, Carmarthenshire, Wales, United Kingdom


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoals
Ammanford AFC000
Caernarfon Town224

Ammanford AFC

1Craig Morris Goalkeeper
2Matthew Jones Right Back
3Richard Lewis Left Back
4Euros Griffiths Centre Back
5Rhys Fisher Left Back
6Brett Enoch Centre Midfield
7Mathew Fisher Centre Midfield
8Ben Soal Centre Midfield
9Craig Frater Striker
10Luke Borrelli Striker
11Gavin Jones Striker
12Andy Robinson Centre Midfield
13Dale Jones Centre Midfield
14Nich Arnold Centre Back
15Tristan Jenkins Winger
16Bruno Forkuoh Winger